1984 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : 1984


Colorado4Wheel
04-10-2011, 17:43
I made 1984 bullets this weekend. Two casting sessions, 1.5 hours of sizing. Including a break to clean the sizer. Jack won't understand that last statement at all.

Anyway, not bad because it's not like I spent all my weekend in working on casting.

justinsaneok
04-10-2011, 17:46
Orwell would be proud.

WiskyT
04-10-2011, 17:57
You'd better count them one more time just to be sure.

Colorado4Wheel
04-10-2011, 18:05
44.5 #'s of bullets. I almost changed it to 2000 but 1984 was a great year.,

Zombie Steve
04-10-2011, 18:39
Do they all mic the same in diameter and length?
:whistling:

sellersm
04-11-2011, 11:36
So is this a message from the Ministry of Casting? :dunno:

Colorado4Wheel
04-11-2011, 14:37
I used to wonder how many I could make in a weekend if I need to just "get it done" Now I know.

GioaJack
04-11-2011, 14:41
I made 1984 bullets this weekend. Two casting sessions, 1.5 hours of sizing. Including a break to clean the sizer. Jack won't understand that last statement at all.

Anyway, not bad because it's not like I spent all my weekend in working on casting.


What the hell is there to clean on a Star? Ya know they've got pills for that pesky OCD problem. :whistling:


Jack

Colorado4Wheel
04-11-2011, 14:52
I don't know what it was doing but it was not feeding lube to one of the three holes that feeds the lube groove. I was having to turn the pressure up really high to make it work right. So I took out the die, melted the lube off and cleaned the holes. I put the die in so that the two holes farthest away from the lube source were both as close as possible. Problem went away. Maybe something got in one of the holes. Who knows.

usmc4641
04-11-2011, 14:55
doubleplusgood

GioaJack
04-11-2011, 15:00
I don't know what it was doing but it was not feeding lube to one of the three holes that feeds the lube groove. I was having to turn the pressure up really high to make it work right. So I took out the die, melted the lube off and cleaned the holes. I put the die in so that the two holes farthest away from the lube source were both as close as possible. Problem went away. Maybe something got in one of the holes. Who knows.


Run your lube just a smidgen warmer, it will allow it to flow from three sides and fill the grooves. Get that variable dial I told you about at Harbor Freight, works pretty well.

It's really tough to keep a constant temperature with a base plate that doesn't have a thermostat... if you leave it on it gets way too hot, even with a very hard lube, and when you unplug it the temp goes down so quick the lube won't flow.

BTW... the grease grooves don't need to be completely filled, won't effect accuracy or leading, it just makes 'em look pretty... and I know how important that is to you. :whistling:


Jack

WiskyT
04-11-2011, 15:11
Four legs good, two legs bad. Oh wait, never mind.

Colorado4Wheel
04-11-2011, 15:17
Run your lube just a smidgen warmer, it will allow it to flow from three sides and fill the grooves. Get that variable dial I told you about at Harbor Freight, works pretty well.

It's really tough to keep a constant temperature with a base plate that doesn't have a thermostat... if you leave it on it gets way too hot, even with a very hard lube, and when you unplug it the temp goes down so quick the lube won't flow.

BTW... the grease grooves don't need to be completely filled, won't effect accuracy or leading, it just makes 'em look pretty... and I know how important that is to you. :whistling:


Jack


I get that. It's been like that for a while. Never really cared but I was tired of pulling the handle and thought I would see if during my break I could make it fill out better. If I was smart I would have left it like that to save lube.

GioaJack
04-11-2011, 15:52
I just sized and lubed 1986 200 grain SWC's in 56 minutes. You can't even beat a dying cripple.

Wussie flatlander. :whistling:


Jack