Does my 223 brass need resizing? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Does my 223 brass need resizing?


bob35
04-11-2011, 20:33
I bought a Wilson gage to check my finished 223 reloads from range brass, it has solved a lot of jamming problems. Now I am reloading brass that was fired in my new AR15. I've noticed this fired brass (not re-sized) from my new AR15 drops right in the gage, fits perfect. Can I skip the resizing process for this brass?

steve4102
04-11-2011, 20:38
I bought a Wilson gage to check my finished 223 reloads from range brass, it has solved a lot of jamming problems. Now I am reloading brass that was fired in my new AR15. I've noticed this fired brass (not re-sized) from my new AR15 drops right in the gage, fits perfect. Can I skip the resizing process for this brass?

NO! All brass handloaded for a Semi-Auto must be Full Length sized. No Exceptions.

Colorado4Wheel
04-11-2011, 20:41
The bullet will fall out of the case with out resizing.

bob35
04-11-2011, 20:56
Thanks, I'm new to 223 reloading and this helps to be able to ask questions.

chris in va
04-11-2011, 21:14
Needs resizing, however all the brass I pick up at the range falls under 'trim to' length for some reason, even after resizing. Thats a good thing as the thought of trimming 2000 pieces gives me nightmares.

DWARREN123
04-11-2011, 21:18
Semi auto rifle brass should be full length resized while single shot/bolt action may work with just neck resizing if to be used in the same firearm.