Used brass [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Used brass


Snapper2
04-21-2011, 10:37
Is it possible for used brass to be too thin without it growing in length? Rifle or pistol?

fredj338
04-21-2011, 13:20
Too thin for what? Yes, brass does vary in thickness form manuf to manuf. Example, I can't use most RP brass forjacketed bulelts in the 45acp, too thin, poor neck tension. I save it for lead bullets that run 0.001" larger.

Snapper2
04-21-2011, 13:41
Thin due to wear. Just wondering if measuring the case length is the only way to tell if the neck doesn't have correct tension before you seat the bullet. Assuming of course you have a good brand brass to start with. Thanks for your reply Fred.

firefighter4215
04-21-2011, 16:37
Too thin for what? Yes, brass does vary in thickness form manuf to manuf. Example, I can't use most RP brass forjacketed bulelts in the 45acp, too thin, poor neck tension. I save it for lead bullets that run 0.001" larger.

I think I just figured out why my lead loads in 38 special work perfectly but my plated loads are inconsistent. I'm so glad I separated all my brass by headstamp now.