charge weight vs. volume? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : charge weight vs. volume?

Getready4it
04-24-2011, 10:11
I'm new to reloading and have been trying to work up some .45 acp loads. I started with a Lee Classic Turret kit. I have a few different powders that I want to try to see what works for my pistol and my shooting. So far I have tried to achieve some starting loads using the Auto Disk Powder Measure and the Lee dippers both with included data and the Lee manual. I'm using the Lee Safety Scale to weigh the charge and while I'm not thrilled with the performance of this scale, I have read just as many good reviews as bad ones. I know there are better instruments for weighing the charge. My concern is that both the Auto Disk and the Lee dippers seem to give a light charge based on the data within the Lee manual and each of the measures I've used. With Accurate #2 I noticed as much as 1.5 grains of difference. I still use the scale to check my charge and I feel the scale is reasonably accurate. I have only loaded in ten round batches and the ones I have shot were shot in mags loaded with four of my hand loads and four factory loads to give me some basis of comparison. Each yielded similar results. Is this variation in the Auto Disk and the Lee dippers normal? What type of scale is an improvement to the Lee? Can you offer any advice on scale choices? The problems I have with the Lee is that I can't seem to get it to retain zero and adjust it to weigh a charge at the same time. Granted, I'm used to using much larger less sensitive tools and I do not have the hands of a jeweler(sp?).

dudel
04-24-2011, 10:29
Lee dippers for sure (and possibly the auto disk) throw light charges on purpose (for safety). It's a way to compensate for humidity and different dipping techniques. Dippers work well, but it helps if you "calibrate" them so you know what the throw is for your powder and technique.

Colorado4Wheel
04-24-2011, 10:45