Lessons from the cross dominant [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Lessons from the cross dominant

jack76590
05-27-2011, 15:38
I am not cross dominant and have the blessing of being right handed with a right dominant eye.

However, I do on occasion practice weak/left handed shooting. For me this is ONE handed shooting using left hand to prepare me for situations where my right dominant arm/hand may be injured.

I am not very good at it, in sense slow and relatively inaccurate. I could probably hit a man more than 50% of the time at 25 yards. But not solid hits and it takes me a long time to line up sights. I have been bringing my left hand over to the right and bending my wrist. Slow and not very stable.

So I am looking for a better technique. I know you have trained many people, some of whom I assume are cross dominate. I thought you may have developed some techniques, that may be of use to the NON cross dominate shooter, when shooting weak handed.

As always thanks for any advice or insights.

Mas Ayoob
05-27-2011, 19:42
Jack, I suggest you try the McMillan/Chapman Technique.

Lock your left arm straight out, rigid at every joint. (As you've discovered, a bent wrist destroys control.) Now, rotate the sights SLIGHTLY (15 degrees to no more than 45 degrees) to the right. This should bring the sights dead in line with your right eye, with your firing arm still solidly locked.