Anyone else, just not "ate up with it"? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else, just not "ate up with it"?

Agent6-3/8
05-31-2011, 10:55
The "on call" thread got me wondering prompted me to post this thread.

I love the job. While its tough, the hours long and the pay low its an awesome way to make a living if you're in it for the right reasons. With that said, I never was ate up with it, even as a boot. Perhaps its because I worked crazy and very long hours with my last department. Seems like some guys live for it and they can't wait for their next shift, work all the OT they can, wear cop stuff all the time, even off duty, etc. We all know the kind.

For whatever reason I never was like that. (and it seems a bit unusual, honestly) I love the work, but I refuse to let it consume me. I highly value my time with my family and loved ones. Family is number one with me. When it comes down to it LE is how I make my living (or at least used to and want to again) its not my life or what I live for. Thats not to say its "just a job". It is definitely a way of life and I feel a strong calling to LE, to step out and do what others can't or won't. I simply don't let it define who I am.

Anyone else feel the same way?

collim1
05-31-2011, 11:12
I am progressively less "ate up with it" each day. After 6-7 years of it I can actually see myself not working in LE anymore at some point, something I couldn't even consider when I started.

Might always be in some form of LE, but I am growing tired of patrol and am not interested in being promoted to detectives.

SpoiledBySig
05-31-2011, 11:28
At my last department, for about 20 years, I think I was swearing that I couldn't wait to get my 20 years in and then retire every day.

When I finally made it and got my 20 year pension, for almost a year of not working, I was thinking to myself, "oh God, what am I going to do now?". I probably drove my family crazy.