AR help for a Cali guy [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : AR help for a Cali guy

strakill
06-04-2011, 23:26
I've searched but I cant find any suggestions for us commiefornia guys.
I am in the market for an AR since stag arms made their Ca approved lowers that can be changed to a standard lower easily.
Is there any cal guys that can help me figure out the rules for the uppers? I am thinking of purchasing the stag model three upper to start with. I don't like the 2t model on their website because of the fixed front sight. I will be putting optics on it and would rather have a fold down front sight.
I will be asking alot of questions because I am a newb to the ar world but prices seem to have dropped so I am going to make a purchase soon. I would like to keep the budget around a grand.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

BryGuy
06-04-2011, 23:36
Give TDS Guns a call. They are located in Rocklin near Sacramento. California legal ARs are their specialty.
http://tdsguns.com/store/

They can answer all your questions and ship you anything you need.

MrMurphy
06-05-2011, 01:21
Best advice?

Move.

bel970
06-05-2011, 01:37
Best advice?

Move.

+100

the difference between a CA legal and non legal stripped lower is just the brand and model name not necessarily, the physical dimensions of the lower it's self.

the evil features are in the parts kit (mag release) stock/grip and upper.

a gas block with a rail instead of a sight is far less likely to have a bayonet lug (evil feature), however fixed is available without the lug.

if you run optics with magnification you wont see the front sight any way.

FatBoy
06-05-2011, 01:58
Have you tried on CalGuns?

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=56818

strakill
06-05-2011, 13:55
Have you tried on CalGuns?

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=56818

Yup. They are giving me some good advice.

jing1117
06-05-2011, 16:44