Bushmaster AR-15 A2 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Bushmaster AR-15 A2


conch27
06-11-2011, 10:58
I just purchased one of these. It was a Maine based company close to me and got one that still said Windahm Maine on it. I understand the moved to NY. I just wanted to throw out that it ran perfect out of the box with 30 round mags shooting a mix of WWB, PMC, and cheap steal cased Herters. My first AR type rifle. Wow did that thing get hot.
Anyone prefer any must have upgrades to the gun? These are new to me and wanted to pick the brains of the ones in the know. Thanks

eracer
06-11-2011, 11:01
http://www.brassfetcher.com/images/tacticoolAR15.jpg

conch27
06-11-2011, 11:03
:wow:

Ya I was thing more about internally. I am not sure I could carry that thing!

ancient_serpent
06-11-2011, 11:13
Personally I would go order a full auto bolt from Bravo Company. A decent red dot (Aimpoint or EOtech) optic, VTAC sling and flashlight mount with a Surefire 6P. You'll be good to go.

eracer
06-11-2011, 11:18
:wow:

Ya I was thing more about internally. I am not sure I could carry that thing!I'm of the mind that "If it ain't broke, don't fix it."

Too many people start swapping internal parts and end with with a rifle that doesn't work as well as when they got it. Bushmaster has been making AR-15's for a long time. They know how to build them for shooters like us.

Having said all that, the #1 thing to get IMHO is a new trigger. I've heard all the arguments above training with the OEM trigger before spending the money for a good trigger. I say, 'Horse Hockey!"

Nothing improves the usability of an AR-15 like a good trigger.

Also, the Spike's ST2 buffer is a nice addition.

What kind of optics does your Bushmaster have? If it's a flat top, then a nice optic like an Aimpoint, or a low-power scope, along with a BUIS (Back-up Iron Sight) is a worthwhile addition. Those aren't internal parts, per se, but I'd thought I'd mention it anyway.

M&P15T
06-11-2011, 11:19
You need an ACD mounted to it. ACD stands for automatic claymore deployer.:rofl:

mvician
06-11-2011, 11:39
Anyone prefer any must have upgrades to the gun? These are new to me and wanted to pick the brains of the ones in the know. Thanks


Lube and ammo. Shoot it. If something breaks, replace it with a higher quality part.


After you've had it for a while. you will know what you want or don't want.
Don't start slapping a bunch of cheap crap on it to make it tacticool.

RyanNREMTP
06-11-2011, 12:23
The only thing internally I would add is more ammo.

Glockdude1
06-11-2011, 12:29
Congrats!!

All you need is PMAGS and more ammo.

:thumbsup:

mjkeat
06-11-2011, 12:52
Lube and ammo. Shoot it. If something breaks, replace it with a higher quality part.


After you've had it for a while. you will know what you want or don't want.
Don't start slapping a bunch of cheap crap on it to make it tacticool.

Great advice.

STI
06-11-2011, 12:59
Question for all, just asking. Why P mags when the othere work perfectly? I have been using my mage for lots of yrs and never a problem, just curious?

mjkeat
06-11-2011, 13:12
Question for all, just asking. Why P mags when the othere work perfectly? I have been using my mage for lots of yrs and never a problem, just curious?

Ive found PMags to be more reliable on a more consistant basis.

conch27
06-11-2011, 15:21
Lube and ammo. Shoot it. If something breaks, replace it with a higher quality part.


After you've had it for a while. you will know what you want or don't want.
Don't start slapping a bunch of cheap crap on it to make it tacticool.

Sounds great to me! Thanks everyone.

bmoore
06-11-2011, 16:31
You have a great carbine, I wouldnt mess with it unless you really want to. I prefer rifles without a whole lot of junk on them. I am also not a combat operator.

nipperwolf
06-11-2011, 17:23
A decent red dot (Aimpoint or EOtech)

FWIW, the OP's rifle is not a flat top. ;)

RyanNREMTP
06-11-2011, 18:59
FWIW, the OP's rifle is not a flat top. ;)


The optic can be placed on a quad rail or with a special mount onto the carry handle.

scromer
06-11-2011, 19:38
http://www.tacticalyellowvisor.net/8343/126721.html

conch27
06-11-2011, 20:26
http://www.tacticalyellowvisor.net/8343/126721.html

Good info!

ancient_serpent
06-11-2011, 20:40
FWIW, the OP's rifle is not a flat top. ;)

FWIW, it doesn't have to be. :cool:

conch27
06-11-2011, 20:53
I have been shooting it quite a bit and have decided to get a scope and this question just came to me. I have a fixed front sight and the carry handle rear sight is removable. Do I need a riser on the scope to make sure the front sight is not an issue?

mvician
06-11-2011, 22:01
No, the FSB will "blur out" under magnification of the scope.

conch27
06-12-2011, 09:39
No, the FSB will "blur out" under magnification of the scope.

Thanks.

Darkangel1846
06-12-2011, 12:29
http://www.brassfetcher.com/images/tacticoolAR15.jpg



Hey! Where are all the extra bipods?:rofl:

Spiffums
06-12-2011, 14:56
I think some of the older Bushmasters were decent enough guns. Get a BCM or LMT Bolt/Bolt Carrier Group and replace it when the old one breaks.