How do you choose a holster without going broke? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : How do you choose a holster without going broke?

onebadtwo
06-14-2011, 20:46
I am new to carrying and just picked up a new G26 to use as my primary CCW. How do you pick a holster without spending tons of money getting something that just plain doesn't work for you? I like the IWB holsters such as the CrossBreed, the MTAC, and the KingTuk. But how do you choose which is best? I am also not totally opposed to carrying OWB but there seem to be TONS of choices in that market! I picked up a DeSantis Nemisis today just to get me by with the G26.

Folsom_Prison
06-14-2011, 21:02
Just do yourself the favor and buy the supertuck. I've had mine for over a year now and couldn't be happier.

jeffyjeff
06-14-2011, 21:04
whatever you buy, you can most likely find someone to resell it to if doesn't work for you.

personally, when i bought my first handgun for ccw -- also a g26 -- i also bought a horsehide cbst as my first holster and found it works perfect for me~

Travclem
06-14-2011, 21:08
Without intent starting a pissing match I'll tell you that the MTAC is the best holster you listed IMO. Before long you'll end up with a drawer full of holsters like the rest of us.

I believe GT used to have a holster borrowing thing set up where you could try different holsters.

LongGoneDays
06-14-2011, 21:10
I had a long time to formulate an idea before I'd even bought my first carry pistol.
Do a lot of research, compare product descriptions and word of mouth to what you need.

For me I wanted IWB and leather, with straps that allow me to take the gun off without removing my belt. I went from there and got 2 different holsters from highnoonholsters.com

Love them both for their intended dress.

1canvas
06-14-2011, 21:50