6 position buffer tube+14.5 barrel= 26" overall? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : 6 position buffer tube+14.5 barrel= 26" overall?

Judge Roy Bean
06-23-2011, 06:43
Have narrowed it down.

Spikes lower. I want to take the stock off, leave the 6 position buffer tube and put a pad over it from Ace stocks. Possible? Good idea?

Is a milspec or civilian buffer tube lighter?

Spikes L/W 14.5 upper with perm flash hider to make 16" overall.

Edit*- just saw that there is no 14.5 " upper on spikes website. I though they made one. I will look into other companies I guess.

With this set up, will the rifle be complient with the 26" overall rifle lenght law?

And as yall might remember. I'm trying to make the rifle as light as possible and still be compliant with state/federal laws.

Sorry if these are stupid/newb questions. I am somewhat new to Ar rifles.

cyrsequipment
06-23-2011, 09:07
Ok, just to catch up... you are going without a stock?

If you are going without a stock, why not have a pistol?

Sorry if you have already answered these questions.

JBaird22
06-23-2011, 09:08
I would probably assume your overall length would be greater than 26 inches with a 16 inch barrel. With the stock completely collapsed it sits at the base of the tube (meaning they are flush against each other) and the collapsed length is well over the legal limit. That said, if you put some sort of pad on the buffer tube, you are not making it shorter by any means.

GearGuru
06-23-2011, 11:39
Agree with other poster, why not go with a pistol lower, then you can put a 10.5 or so bbl on her, set without a "stock" and it's just another pistol with no worries about minimum length etc.

Judge Roy Bean
06-24-2011, 04:58
Ok, just to catch up... you are going without a stock?

If you are going without a stock, why not have a pistol?

Sorry if you have already answered these questions.

Just trying to go as light as possible. (Bad shoulder)

Judge Roy Bean
06-24-2011, 04:59