Leather conditioner, oil, cream to break in new holster? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Leather conditioner, oil, cream to break in new holster?

AGAF
06-25-2011, 18:12
Does anyone know of any type of product that you can apply inside a new leather holster to make it more "slick"? Something that will reduce the friction and allow for a faster draw without the firearm "sticking"? I've read about some type of silicone spray, but I don't know if that is advisable on leather.

BailRecoveryAgent
06-25-2011, 18:41
I would wrap the unloaded gun in a couple plastic grocery sacks and then wear it around the house like that for a day or so. I'm not a leather expert, but I've used the plastic sack routine on a couple different holsters with good results.

TheRogue
06-25-2011, 18:42
Grant Cunningham recommends (http://www.personaldefensenetwork.com/articles/tactics-defensive-issues/carrying-when-the-heats-on/) a leather protector/conditioner called Obenauf's. (https://www.obenaufs.com/)

Not sure that using it would equate to a slicker draw, but it seems like it should.

AGAF
06-25-2011, 19:42
I was doing some searching and found this. It is Galco's Draw EZ

Wonder if anyone has tried something like this.....

Bogey
06-25-2011, 19:47
I was doing some searching and found this. It is Galco's Draw EZ

Wonder if anyone has tried something like this.....

I'd feel a bit uneasy using a "home remedy".

Galco makes fine leather holsters. I would not hesitate to use their product if I felt the need.

All I have ever done with the two or three leather holsters I own is to holster and unholster the gun hundreds of times while sitting in front of the TV. No need to wear it.

kashdaddy
06-25-2011, 19:58
best method is to use two layers of wax paper with the wax on the outside contacting the leather and not the gun. wrap the gun and insert it into the holster. repeat the motion a couple of time and leave it overnight to impregnate and you would be how surprise it works.