College Student Looking At Laptops [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : College Student Looking At Laptops

RustyDaleShackleford
06-30-2011, 21:02
I'm a college student, still living at home (for now) with six other people. I'd like to have access to a computer anytime I want or need it, without having to wait on anyone to get off. And I'd love to have a nice, speedy machine that hasn't been bogged down with other people's crap on it.

I hope some of you tech-savvy people could give me a few tips on what to look for. Anything would be helpful: brands you'd avoid, how much memory, what size hard drive, etc.

-There won't be much gaming, if any at all. I have one disc-based game in mind that I may install, but no more. It's Age of Empires III, if that helps. I do all the rest of my gaming on my PS3.

-I don't want something super tiny, as it would spend most of the time on my desk. But I don't want a 20"-screen monster or anything. Big enough for everyday desk use, but small enough that I could carry it in a backpack if I wanted to.

-Again, it would spend a lot of time on a desk and plugged in, so I don't think battery life is much of an issue. But more than an hour would be nice. :supergrin:

-I think I do want a CD drive, for the one possible game I mentioned. And it seems that I'd rather have it and not use it, than want it and not have it. I may want to watch some DVD's on it.

-The only things I would really use it for are: Microsoft Word, internet browsing, YouTube/Hulu/etc. videos, the one disc-based game, iTunes, and downloading new music. That's pretty much it. I'd love to have multiple programs/windows/tabs open a lot of the time.

-And I'd love to spend under $600 (before taxes), if possible. I'll probably wait for some back-to-school sales. How much memory/etc. am I looking for?

Thanks

Linux3
06-30-2011, 21:37
First off, what are you going to college for? Your needs may vary.