Mozy has a new deal out! So I wrote up a review... [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Mozy has a new deal out! So I wrote up a review...

Pierre!
07-06-2011, 20:13
If you are on the fence, this might get you off it...

Been with Mozy since last year this time when my core system started folding up on me...

Just renewed, and couldn't be happier!

Hope you take a few minutes and visit the Seeber Consulting Blog...

The address is around here somewhere... Hmmm....

Oh Yah - My Signature!

Hope it helps YOU out...
Patrick

tcruse
07-10-2011, 20:27
I have no 1st hand experience with this company. in general the information is stored on the companies server located somewhere else, many times in other countries. Privacy rules are very different in other parts of the world. So look over you contract very very carefully, demand that the information or a copy of the information remain in US and maybe your state. In most cases you are responsible for the data not the backup company.

Pierre!
07-10-2011, 21:00
Great point TCruse,

That is why I am so happy that Mozy Home will actually backup to a local disk as well as the cloud!

This allows for rapid local recovery when the local systems are intact. So you are not dependent on only one 'storage facility' to recover your data.

Mozy actually uses Amazon's S3 service which may be distributed outside of the USA.

Thanks for pointing that out!

Patrick

Obi Wan
07-11-2011, 13:09
Great point TCruse,

That is why I am so happy that Mozy Home will actually backup to a local disk as well as the cloud!

This allows for rapid local recovery when the local systems are intact. So you are not dependent on only one 'storage facility' to recover your data.

Mozy actually uses Amazon's S3 service which may be distributed outside of the USA.

Thanks for pointing that out!

Patrick