Does "printing" really matter, legally? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Does "printing" really matter, legally?

debbert
07-14-2011, 20:30
Just curious. I am brand new to handgun ownership. I just purchased a Glock 26 for concealed purposes (as soon as I take the required course and get my permit).

I'm curious about "printing". While I am aware that being as stealth as possible is the goal. When it comes down to it on a legal standpoint, does "printing" matter? If the firearm is covered, it's concealed, right?

If someone thinks it might be a firearm, due to printing, it's still concealed if it's covered by a shirt or jacket or whatnot, right?

Those that are not "in-the-know" might think it's a cell phone, blackberry, iPod or some other device. Does it matter if our firearms "print" on occasion, as long as they are completely concealed?

Thoughts?

Angry Fist
07-14-2011, 20:32
Not in an open carry state, where legal. Where OC is illegal, there could be issues. Someone more knowledgeable will be along shortly.

SuperSleuth
07-14-2011, 20:40
It depends on how your state's concealed carry law is written. I'd suggest looking it up and reading it. This would also be an excellent question to ask your instructor when you take the course.

debbert
07-14-2011, 20:51
I will ask the instructor. For the record, I live in an open-carry state.

cowboy1964
07-14-2011, 22:01
I'm not sure I buy the OC argument here. We're talking specifically about printing, not accidental exposure. If it's totally concealed, even if printing, then OC does not come into play. Even if accidentally exposed I don't think OC makes much of a difference as the intent was clearly to conceal it. There is no way one can claim "OC" if the firearm is even partially concealed. Think about it this way: if a person doesn't have a carry permit, could they claim OC if it's concealed but printing? Of course not.