Disconnector problem...NEED HELP [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Disconnector problem...NEED HELP

1911gobang
08-01-2011, 19:39
I have a little issue and I am pulling my hair out....
I have been shooting and working on 1911's for 15+ years, and this issue is just pissin' me off...
At the bench, all actions are flawless...
dropping the slide with slide release....no problem
Racking slide...no problem
Dummy rounds chamber in no problem...
It never fails to work....hundreds of cycles, no problems....
Now put some ammo in it...
It fires 2, 3, 7, 12 times no problem...
All of a sudden...it hangs....Tap the bump pad on the magzine or tap on the side of it with a nylon or rubber mallet....it fires again for 2,3,....10, 15 rounds....
Needless to say the problem is sporadic, and it NEVER fails....until it has ammo in it....and I absolutely CAN NOT replicate the problem on the bench...
I have polished EVERY piece inside the action, as well as all raceways in which these pieces operate....
I have changed every piece (thank God for a big parts inventory), and I have tried as many different combinations as I could and I have gotten it to 98% reliabitlity, but obviously that isn't good enough....
Different ammo, loads and maufacturer all do the same thing....

What started as a sear spring problem turned into a sear notch on the hammer problem turned into a trigger raceway problem and now turned into a disconnector problem....

I am not a novice gunsmith, and I have custom built probably 50 or so 1911's from the ground up. I have a huge selection of tools and equipment, and if I absolutely had to, I could machine my own parts.

This is just one of them head scratchin things.... :dunno:

Anyone? Suggestions? I am absolutely dumbfounded.....

Quack
08-01-2011, 20:23
What's hanging up?
Trigger not resetting?

knedrgr
08-01-2011, 20:51