Fishing in western Washington [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Fishing in western Washington

PhatGuru
02-18-2003, 21:06
I'm new to fishing and I'm having a hard time finding good places to fish in western Washington. I'm mostly interested in bass and stream trout. All I have to get out in the lakes is a canoe, so big lakes or anywhere with waves is bad. Where do you guys recommend?

Sixgun_Symphony
02-18-2003, 23:34
King county is pretty much fished out when it comes to fresh water.

I suggest squid jigging off the Des Moines, WA fishing pier between October and January at night. The humpy season is good too, but it only comes once every two years.

fajizzle nizzle
02-19-2003, 04:00
For west side streams, the forks of the Snoqualmie are the best known trout fishing. Most western washington streams are pretty poor for trout, with a fish of 12" being large. Most of the lakes on the west side are stocked with trout and there are a few managed as higher quality fisheries. My experience with a couple of the quality lakes has been rainbows in the 12-18" range with a few browns mixed in. Bass fishing is kind of so-so. Many lakes have bass; a few have better bass fishing than the rest. Bass don't get much attention around here and I have a feeling that it's better than most people think, though I haven't tried it. East of the cascades the trout and bass fishing are much better.
Steelhead and salmon are the main angling attractions on the west side.
Be sure about the regulations for each body of water you intend to fish.
Websites with Washington trout and bass fishing info:
www.washingtonlakes.com
www.gamefishin.com

fajizzle nizzle
02-19-2003, 04:09
double tap

Craigster
02-19-2003, 11:05