Getting ready to enter an open enrollment academy.. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Getting ready to enter an open enrollment academy..

Ohioan
08-04-2011, 19:52
I've been lurking a while, so I thought I'd introduce myself.

This September I'll be entering an open enrollment academy here in Ohio. I know, I know, I'm crazy for entering the LE field in this economy. But my current area of expertise isn't much better. I'm 29 years old and I have a Bachelors of Science in Education from Ohio University. My concentration is in Secondary Social Studies and I have a minor in Political Science.

The past 6 years I've sent out 20-30 resumes, called numerous principals harassed secretaries, etc. and I've had 3 interviews. From what information I've been able to gather, there are about 200 applicants for each Social Studies position posted. That's a tough market. Out of state jobs aren't much better.

So, the time has come for more education. I've had strong interest in Law Enforcement since I took a Criminal Procedure class in college. And in the past few years I've made friends with several LEOs. I've done a few ride a longs. So in discussing my education with my wife, and doing some serious praying I've decided to enter the academy.

After I graduate and pass the exam I will be joining the county sheriff's office as a reserve. This county is so poor that there are days when no one is on duty. My land lord is a UC reserve officer and I've talked to him in depth about it. So I figure until I can land a job on a dept. I can gain experience this way and get an advantage over other new grads. But as a reserve officer i have to buy all my own gear. (anyone want to buy a Rock Island Compact 1911?)