Glock Model 36 Ammo Feed Problems [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Glock Model 36 Ammo Feed Problems

slowburninsteve
08-07-2011, 19:54
Howdy, I'm new to the Glock Forum, but have been on several other gun forums (mainly the Smith & Wesson Forum) for many years. I recently purchased a new Glock Model 36 in .45 acp and have sporatically had problems with it feeding Federal Hydroshock ammo. Is the model 36 ammo sensitive or might there just be a burr on the front of the mags? The ammo seems to hang up on the front of the magazines. Trunucated ball ammo feeds just fine. I was told that .45 acp hardball will over penetrate. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Steve

Jim S.
08-07-2011, 20:33
My 36 feeds anything I've tried so far, including the hydroshocks.
Even the old hydroshocks.
I have noticed that depending on how you hold the 36 you can actually pull the magazine and cause it to slightly nose dive and that can create a feed problem with some ammo.
Try curling your pinky under the magazine base plate instead of trying to fit it on the magazine.
If you have a +0 or +1 baseplate the problem can be even more likely to happen.
Put an unloaded magazine in the gun (empty) and move it front to back and you will see what I am talking about.
By the way...
I have approximately 14,000 rounds through my 36 of all variations and brands.
I have yet to have a malfunction.
Don't be afraid to try some new mags or look closely at the ones you have.
You will see any problem with the ammo if you hold the mag in your hand and slowly push a round out as if it is feeding.

Jim S.
08-07-2011, 20:35
Hey, welcome to the forum.
One thing I have found and forgot to mention is that the 36's love "Hot" ammo.
+P's are perfect for the 36.

slowburninsteve
08-08-2011, 03:03
Thanks Jim! I'll be on the lookout for some Golden Sabres, and I also heard that PowRBall ammo by CorBon is good to use as well.
Steve

GIockGuy24
08-12-2011, 13:12