FireFox 6 coming soon [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : FireFox 6 coming soon


Detectorist
08-15-2011, 21:02
I love my version 5.

http://www.cnn.com/2011/TECH/web/08/15/firefox.6.release/index.html?hpt=hp_c2

g29andy
08-17-2011, 12:52
tried it, it's buggy, went back to 5.01

Detectorist
08-17-2011, 19:57
tried it, it's buggy, went back to 5.01

Thanks. I'll put off upgrading for a while.

Hauptmann6
08-17-2011, 22:28
For me it's faster than 5 by alot.

Pierre!
08-18-2011, 07:28
So far I totally agree with Hauptmann6...

I have it on my 3 primary systems, and I was skeptical... but it's pretty fast! And a little less of a memory hog from my brief checks...

Quite a few of my plugins/addons were not happy, but LastPass made it just fine! :cool:

I ain't worth 'poo' without my passwords... :rofl:

g29andy
08-19-2011, 20:25
I had problems with pages not loading/images not loading on a couple of xp pro laptops and a Win 7 Ultimate 64bit desktop. However, in Ubuntu and Lubuntu, so far so good and fast too.

Detectorist
08-19-2011, 23:30
I decided to upgrade. So far, so good, with Vista Basic.

Generalcarry
08-20-2011, 13:16
I found it terrible and went back to 5 myself.

GotGlock1917
08-20-2011, 15:55
My only problem with FF is that it won't quit.

I'm on a Mac Pro at work. It's a 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon with 32GB ram and running 10.6.8 Snow Leopard.

Since I upgraded to FF5 and still at FF6 it will not quit from the menu or cmd-Q. I always have to force quit it. Really pisses me off.

jwest46
08-20-2011, 16:10
I love my version 5.

http://www.cnn.com/2011/TECH/web/08/15/firefox.6.release/index.html?hpt=hp_c2
Still using FF 3.6 so I won't have to buy an upgrade for RoboForm. It still gets me to all websites I want to see. And, it sure looks better than IE 9.

Obi Wan
08-22-2011, 10:02
I'm trying FF6 on the XP desktop for now, but have run into numerous cases of pages not loading. It could be related to my new Belkin router, but the two laptops seem to be loading OK with FF5, so the jury is out for now...

mbogo
08-22-2011, 12:30
No problems on Vista or 7.

mbogo

g29andy
08-22-2011, 17:16
All my machines had the automatic upgrade rather than a clean install.
After reading some suggestions on mozilla forum, I completely uninstalled then reinstalled 6.0. Things working well now so far.


If you do a complete wipe, backup your bookmarks before you uninstall, or use xmarks like I do to sync across all my machines.