1911 IWB Carry Help [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : 1911 IWB Carry Help

joemannnnn
08-16-2011, 19:31
Hey Guys,
I started to carry my DW CCO for the first time today. This is my first time carrying a 1911. I bought a holster from Kelley Gun Leather, it is similar to a VMII. The gun conceals real well, I carried at about 3-3:30. The only issue I have is when sitting. The grip safety will dig into my side, and the butt of the gun will restrict leaning back in chairs and while driving. I find myself sitting and adjusting discreetly. Is this all common? Any suggestions for improvement? The most uncomfortable part is the grip safety digging in, kinda wish the leather flap on back side was larger to cover or that I didn't have love handles. Should I keep an under shirt tucked in between? Thanks for the help
Joe

faawrenchbndr
08-16-2011, 19:34
I'm not familiar with that holster,.......but with a commander in a Versa Max II,
carried at 3:30 I do not have that problem at all. However we may be built a bit different.

lsbbigdog
08-16-2011, 19:40
You have to find that sweet spot between ride height,cant and location. I tried a MS VMII and a summer special. For me they where not comfortable. I use a Crossbreed Supertuck. This way I can adjust height and cant and it disperses the weight of the gun very well.

Wade-19
08-16-2011, 19:55
Well, I'm fat guy, and I love the VMII. I have one for all of the guns I might carry. I do wear a T-shirt between the holster and my skin though.

glock2740
08-16-2011, 19:57
I carry my CCO, and all of my other guns, :cool:, in a CBST. GREAT holster! :thumbsup:

Wade-19
08-16-2011, 19:59
I also like the C-tac.

polizei1
08-16-2011, 20:11
You will have to try a few holsters and see which ones work and which don't. I tried a VMII and it's a GREAT holster, but it didn't fit me. I love my Crossbreed Supertuck though, it's simply awesome.