Apologies [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Apologies

IlliniGlocker
08-19-2011, 06:31
I'll admit it, I'm a self-professed cop basher. I never see you guys on a good day. I never see you guys helping the community. My only exposure has been negative (speeding tickets, etc.).

What further compounds my distrust of the police is my heritage. My grandparents dealt with the Nazis, and my parents dealt with the communists before immigrating to the US. Therefore, I have a pretty clear picture of authority figures.

I have to say though, you probably deal with alot of crap on a daily basis. And while I'd hate to admit it, I'm sorry and thanks for keeping my community safe.

huron bay
08-19-2011, 06:37
Here's a thought, don't speed.

txleapd
08-19-2011, 06:41
Thanks for comparing us to Nazis. :upeyes:

IlliniGlocker
08-19-2011, 06:42
Here's a thought, don't speed.

I was going with the flow of traffic, officer....

IlliniGlocker
08-19-2011, 06:45

If you want to read it that way, fine. I was trying to show how figures of authority are generalized in my mind.

Edited to add: Let me spin this as a question... how would you view police if the police your parents grew up with would throw you in jail for speaking poorly about the government? What about if the police that your grandparents dealt with threw your grandmother into a forced labor camp?

Bodyarmorguy
08-19-2011, 06:51
I had a bad experience with a computer engineer once, I guess they must all be jackwagons, huh......stereotypes suck, don't they?

In all seriousness bro, you have bad days, cops have bad days, school teachers, truck drivers and grocery clerks have bad days. Are there some idiots on this job? Sure, I will personally point them out. But again, there are idiots on every job.