Prepping for work outdoors [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Prepping for work outdoors

Kevin108
08-23-2011, 22:10
I'm a carpenter for a local municipality. I work with 5 other carpenters, 3 electricians, a painter, a couple plumbers and a couple HVAC guys. We work on a variety of city-owned buildings from city hall and the emergency services buildings to the rec centers and parks.

Every few weeks I get a pager to babysit for emergencies such as vandalism, plumbing, electrical or HVAC issues, or securing a building after a break in. As I also live in the city I work in, I'm occasionally called to handle things outside of the on call period since I'm here in town anyway.

I have a basic first-aid kit with pain relievers, antihistamines, eye drops, bandages, tape, super glue, rubber gloves, tweezers, nail clippers, scissors, and a sewing kit. My work van is also stocked with soap, clean water, waterless hand sanitizer, rope/string and lots of rags. I keep work gloves, safety glasses and fire extinguishers as well.

Often I'm called to deal with things alone and frequently at odd hours. I've had to respond to issues after Hurricane Isabel and during a northeaster at the end of 09, among other storms. The potential upcoming weather has me trying to think forward a bit.

I've been in this trade for a dozen years and I've been fortunate to have never sustained or had to care for any major injuries. Most of my injuries are cuts which get either electrical tape over a paper towel or super glue but anything can happen to guys that get into all the things I do.

Can you guys think of anything else I should be outfitted with?

TangoFoxtrot
08-24-2011, 02:50
A .45 ACP and two extra mags!

jdavionic
08-24-2011, 04:05
In the first aid kit, you may want to add some QuickClot pads. They're not that expensive and just a couple would be helpful.

I'm assuming you carry a firearm and some additional mag(s). Right?