I get new body armor NEED HELP!!! [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : I get new body armor NEED HELP!!!

fuzzyduck
08-23-2011, 23:15
So I got told to look into the replacement body armor I want to get. I have a choice between the following:

American Body Armor
US Armor
Armor Express

I dont know what the limitations I have are in regards to ballistic protection, but I know that I will be getting the highest rating I can get.

Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions on the brand that I should get?

Fireplug
08-23-2011, 23:27
Do a search. There are plenty of threads on the subject. Couple are very recent. Good luck, stay safe

Newcop761
08-24-2011, 00:17
I've had two US Armor vests. They make a good product. Get a IIIA vest made of Kevlar /Twaron.

I have no experience with the other brands.

Butcher
08-24-2011, 01:31
have fun in the summer with IIIA

ETA: as if IIA weren't bad enough lol

jnc36rcpd
08-24-2011, 08:20
I have no experience with ABA or Armor Express. I did wear a U.S. Armor vest several years ago and really liked it.

With the NIJ 01.01.06 body armor standard, the protection levels of vests have significantly improved. You may find that Level II does what older IIIA used to do. I'd try to compare the company's II and IIIA vests before making a decision on protection level. I was looking at Survival Armor's vests at TREXPO recently. The Level II was considerably lighter than the IIIA (which wasn't bad) and offered significant protection.

FM12
08-24-2011, 08:45
Main thing: Wear it!! Whatever your choice. It cant help protect u if u dont wear it!

RMolina628
08-24-2011, 08:55
Last vest of mine was Armor Express, the product was not bad but the customer service was beyond terrible

Agent6-3/8
08-24-2011, 09:11
I wore a IIIA from ABA with my last gig. I personally never had any complaints. Lots of guys *****ed, moan and wouldn't wear their vest, but I suspect they would have done the same regardless of the make or threat level.