My new used toy. Dillon 550 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : My new used toy. Dillon 550

itstime
08-28-2011, 13:08
Hello,

picked up a 550 set up to do most pistol calibers. I think I got a deal. Now the learning curve.

The dies have a little surface rust on them. What is the best practice to clean them up?

Should I send it all to Dillon to go through it all? It has sat for years.

I'm a newb and need suggestions. It's all in a big box. Parts I don't even know what they are.

Thanks in advance.

fredj338
08-28-2011, 13:50
If the price was right, send it to Dillon, I think they charge you like $40 for a refurbish & shipping each way. Light surface rust can often be removed w/ fine steel wool & some penetrating oil. If the inside fo the dies show any pitting after that, they are lost, at least the sizing dies. DO you have the manual? THat helps a lot with setup. Ask if you get stuck, many 550 owners here.

bush pilot
08-28-2011, 14:00
Fred gave you some good advice. If you shoot at a club there is probably another shooter there that has a 550 and would be happy to help guide you. I've actually tumbled some grungy dies before with good success. I'm not sure how it would do on rust and I doubt you have a tumbler.

ETA: If you can, post pics and there will be plenty of people that tell you what the part is and where it goes.

GLShooter
08-28-2011, 18:39
A piece of scotch bright covered with some JB bore paste and a drill will take care of that surface rust quickly and not harm your inside die bodies. It works on shotgun chambers that have been neglected. An old 'smith taught me about that one one day.

Greg

PCJim
08-28-2011, 20:31