Question for the hive mind...best place in Tx to become a cop? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Question for the hive mind...best place in Tx to become a cop?

JesseCuster
08-29-2011, 17:34
I ETS from the Army in April of next year. I will have over 3 years of military service and I want to go into law enforcement. Right now I'm considering which area to relocate to.

My wife has family in Port Lavaca, Tx, and she's wanting to be close to them. I really would prefer a department that has its own academy, and for a while I was considering Corpus Christi. After some research it appears that there is a generally negative opinion about CC and its police department, so I thought I'd throw it out there for the collective Cop Talk consciousness and get some input. Any suggestions, GTers?

Hack
08-29-2011, 18:57
We have a guy from Killeen who may pop up. There used to be quite the academy that they attended.

I would suggest also the BOP since I am a BOP officer. They have facilities down in Texas, several in fact. It is a good way to go if you want to go into any other federal jobs later on as well.

A6Gator
08-29-2011, 19:00
Don't know about CCPD, but Corpus Christi is a great place to live.

JesseCuster
08-29-2011, 19:19
Thanks for the replies, guys.

I should have clarified: the general state of living in the city is also very important. My wife will be looking for work there, so that's a factor too.

trdvet
08-29-2011, 20:55