Full Hard Drive - Mac [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Full Hard Drive - Mac

DGreno
08-30-2011, 22:59
Hello all, I am not really tech savvy in this aspect. My wife has a 15 in MacBook Pro. She is using it for school and her photography (mostly RAW files). It has a 320gb HD. She just told me her computer shows the drive as being full. FWIW, she does have a few external drives she uses as well but relies on the internal mostly. My question is, how hard is it to change out for a 500-750gb drive? I have no problem in the actual hardware swap, however, I don't know how to get everything off her current drive onto the new one properly.

Also, what does the GT Tech crew recommend for HD's for the Macbook? I have looked at a few on NewEgg, just not sure what to buy.

Thanks! :wavey:

Pierre!
08-31-2011, 01:08
You should be able to get the specs of your system at the Apple site... and that will tell you the interface...

BUT - then again, in the upper left hand corner you can click on the 'Apple' icon and select system specs too! (and that would be much quicker :cool: )

Once you know the interface (most likely 3Gb SATA) you should be able to order up any matching interface 2.5" notebook drive. Keep in mind that 7200 rpm will make your system a bit faster, but it will run warmer and use more battery too. 5400 rpm is a typical speed for a notebook... but check out what you have in the system now before you place your order.

If you need more info, or I just confused you, holler back! We will get you what you need to make an intelligent decsion!

Patrick

boomhower
08-31-2011, 01:52
Take a look at the hybrid drives. They combine a small SSD for speed with a regular mechanical for storage. They aren't much higher than regular drives and give a pretty solid speed boost.

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine

GAFinch
08-31-2011, 08:06