w231 hp38 powder question [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : w231 hp38 powder question

Getready4it
09-04-2011, 17:23
Somewhere on here I read that w231 and hp38 were the same powder marketed under different names. I'm still somewhat new to loading and have some w231. I was going to try some hp38 but if it's the same what would be the point? I looked to the Lee maual and for the calibers I load there were some substantial differences between the charge weights with same bullets especially .357. Am I missing something, are they the same? I'm looking for an all around powder loading .38spl, .357 and .45acp.

Colorado4Wheel
09-04-2011, 17:26
http://data.hodgdon.com/main_menu.asp

They are the same now. Look at the data using the above link.

HAMMERHEAD
09-04-2011, 17:38
Yup, now the same.

VN350X10
09-04-2011, 19:28
Have been the same powder for quite a while.
The difference in load data comes down to this:

There's a LOT of lot to lot difference.
Sorry, just had to use that line !

uncle albert

fredj338
09-04-2011, 19:33
If you have powder in the old containers, they are diff, always have been. If you have current manuf pwoder, they are the same & data is interchangeable. The Lee manual has a lot of old data in it.

WiskyT
09-05-2011, 05:55
If you have powder in the old containers, they are diff, always have been. If you have current manuf pwoder, they are the same & data is interchangeable. The Lee manual has a lot of old data in it.

They have been the same for decades. The differences in data ar due to lot to lot variations and differences in data SOURCE. AFAIK they have always been the same.

Hodgdon was never a powder manufacturer. He packaged and marketed powders from various sources. That his HP38 was Winchester's 231 has been common knowledge for as long as I can remember.

El_Ron1
09-05-2011, 09:03
Maintaining a stash of older powders gets interesting sometimes. Labeling containers and collecting older data guides can help.

fredj338