Windows 7 image backups? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7 image backups?


Glock!9
09-10-2011, 12:08
Does anyone know if the disk you need to create for a bare metal restore is generic to boot into the recovery console or is that also specific to the PC?

Pierre!
09-10-2011, 14:58
Does anyone know if the disk you need to create for a bare metal restore is generic to boot into the recovery console or is that also specific to the PC?

It is generic for 32bit - All 32bit systems I have tried this on worked fine.

It is also generic for 64bit systems ...

I don't recall trying a 32Bit with a 64bit recovery, or visa versa...

Just match the 32bit and 64bits on the same disk - 3 computers in the house, one 64bit and 2 32bit = 2 disks, 1 32bit, 1 64bit...

That is what I do.

HTH...

Patrick

Drjones
09-11-2011, 20:23
Are you using the built-in Win7 image utility?

I had a bad experience with it - I created a system image, did NOT create the recovery disc as it prompted me to.

I wiped my drive and reinstalled 7, I'm 99% sure using the same disc I had originally used.

Tried to restore from the image I had created previously, and NO luck. None.

Fortunately I had everything double-backed up, so I didn't lose any data, but I had really wanted to avoid reinstalling all my programs.

I'd give it a try before you trust your data to it, that's for sure.

May have had something to do with the fact that I created the image on my NAS, but it shouldn't....