Is federal 40s&w brass really that bad? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Is federal 40s&w brass really that bad?

kasper7106
09-13-2011, 19:54
I just read the sticky about good and bad brass and saw that federal FC 40s&w was junk. Are they really junk and what is the difference between good and bad brass. The reason I ask is that I have been saving my brass for about a year and loading for about 2 months now and my 40s&w brass is roughly 85% Federal.

Colorado4Wheel
09-13-2011, 19:57
Current Federal Brass is stamped Federal not FC.

Tpro
09-13-2011, 20:00
Federal brass is 100% TRASH. It is the #1 reason for Glock .40 KaBooms. It is truly garbage.

Luckily for you, I do have an FFL and can dispose of whatever quantity you need to get rid of. And I am currently running a special. Usually I charge $15.00/100 to dispose of them. Right now (until 9/29/2020) I will get rid of them, FREE OF CHARGE.

Just PM me for my shipping address and we can get them coming my way.

Dang, you were close to hurting yourself. Aren't you glad I came along?:whistling::tongueout:

DannyB
09-13-2011, 20:03
I don't bother sorting my brass. But I know that there is a lot of Federal mixed in and I have never had an issue with any brass of any brand.

Colorado4Wheel
09-13-2011, 20:32
Just so you know Federal changed it FC brass (which was bad) The Federal brass is thicker.

kasper7106
09-13-2011, 20:44
I thought the FC stood for Federal Champion witch is mostly what this brass is purchased from wally world

justinsaneok
09-13-2011, 20:52
Brass stamped FC = BAD Brass stamped FEDERAL = GOOD
Wally worlds stamp = FEDERAL

albyihat
09-13-2011, 21:03
If your brass is stamped FC do not reload it for the .40 all other cal. are fine (I think). I have heard rumors of bad federal brass stamped FC in .40. The stuff stamped FEDERAL is fine or at the least it has not KB'd my glock. Just passing on internet lore enjoy.

creophus
09-14-2011, 11:28