Double check your digital caliper [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Double check your digital caliper

rquintana
09-14-2011, 14:57
I just started reloading and I opted for a digital caliper to check my OAL. When I first got my caliper i checked it on various things of known measurements. It was off by +/- .1 I figured the caliper was right (and it might be) and decided i was fine.

When reloading since I am a beginner I am checking the OAL of all rounds I make. I am loading 9mm and my low tolerance is 1.4". When i was checking my all my newly made ammo, I was getting a lot of 1.099" I fiddled with my seating die, machine etc..., but it kept doing the same thing. To make an already long story short, my caliper skips from 1.099 directly to 1.415.

This is just to let everyone know to really check your digital caliper before you use it. On mine it, it appears everything is fine over 1.415 (checked against many rulers) and below that, it is off by a wide margin. I am sending it in to get it replaced.

dwhite53
09-14-2011, 15:31
I'm currently using a set of verniers.

Looking to buy a dial set.

I hate batteries. They're always dead when you most need them.

All the Best,
D. white

njl
09-14-2011, 15:54
Check your numbers and make your post make sense. You're not loading 9mm to 1.4".

I have HF digital and dial calipers and they often disagree with each other by 0.001.

Boxerglocker
09-14-2011, 16:11
I just started reloading and I opted for a digital caliper to check my OAL. When I first got my caliper i checked it on various things of known measurements. It was off by +/- .1 I figured the caliper was right (and it might be) and decided i was fine.