Just bought my first 1911 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Just bought my first 1911

brianfede
09-16-2011, 15:48
Ordered a Ruger1911 in May, dealer just informed me that he probably won't have that firearm until next year, so I decided to look for another gun. I went to my local gun shop intent on purchasing a Kimber Stainless used for $720 or a new SA GI. Well, long story short, I ended up with a brand new Colt series 70 100 years of service 1911. Paid $870, not sure if that was a good deal or not. Anyway, can't wait to shoot it. I do have a question if someone can give me a hand. When I line up the stop slide to press it back into the gun, it seem that the only way to push the stop slide back into the weapon is by either 1. tapping on it with a rubber end of my screw driver or 2. using a ball point pen to push back the pin. I'm brand new to the 1911 platform so excuse my ignorance but is this really how I am supposed to put the stop slide back? Or is there a better way?

fnfalman
09-16-2011, 16:09
Well, long story short, I ended up with a brand new Colt series 70 100 years of service 1911. Paid $870, not sure if that was a good deal or not.

That's a good price. A very good price for a brand stankin' new Colt Series 70.

When I line up the stop slide to press it back into the gun, it seem that the only way to push the stop slide back into the weapon is by either 1. tapping on it with a rubber end of my screw driver or 2. using a ball point pen to push back the pin. I'm brand new to the 1911 platform so excuse my ignorance but is this really how I am supposed to put the stop slide back? Or is there a better way?