Never buying an OCZ SSD again [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Never buying an OCZ SSD again


Drjones
10-07-2011, 08:40
I did a ton of research before purchasing my first SSD and settled on OCZ because it was just as highly-rated as Intel's offerings, and according to what I read, Intel is/was the king of SSDs.

My first SSD was a Vertex 2, I have it in a desktop, and it's been running great for, I dunno, maybe a year or less.

So of course I ordered another one, an Agility 3, for the new PC I built myself starting in August. Any regular visitor here knows of the troubles I've been having with that - first one was DOA, and the one currently in my system is giving me random (and fortunately infrequent) BSOD and it's been difficult to diagnose the exact cause & find a permanent fix.

Anyway, the other day I get a call from a client. I had revamped two of her office computers with new RAM, Windows 7, etc, and for her main PC, I put in an OCZ Vertex 2 SSD because the speed is so great.

Well, that OCZ drive is dead as a doornail.

I installed an OCZ SSD in one other client's laptop, so now I'm wondering if (when) I'll get a call from her...:upeyes:

Long story short, I'm never buying OCZ again.

Detectorist
10-08-2011, 04:02
I did a ton of research before purchasing my first SSD and settled on OCZ because it was just as highly-rated as Intel's offerings, and according to what I read, Intel is/was the king of SSDs.

My first SSD was a Vertex 2, I have it in a desktop, and it's been running great for, I dunno, maybe a year or less.

So of course I ordered another one, an Agility 3, for the new PC I built myself starting in August. Any regular visitor here knows of the troubles I've been having with that - first one was DOA, and the one currently in my system is giving me random (and fortunately infrequent) BSOD and it's been difficult to diagnose the exact cause & find a permanent fix.

Anyway, the other day I get a call from a client. I had revamped two of her office computers with new RAM, Windows 7, etc, and for her main PC, I put in an OCZ Vertex 2 SSD because the speed is so great.

Well, that OCZ drive is dead as a doornail.

I installed an OCZ SSD in one other client's laptop, so now I'm wondering if (when) I'll get a call from her...:upeyes:

Long story short, I'm never buying OCZ again.

Maybe call the other client and offer to replace the OCZ with a different one?

It looks like you did all the research you could have done.

Drjones
10-08-2011, 11:55
Yes, I just might.

I do all this work for free for my clients, if it's a part that I sold them, and it's a warranty issue, as a courtesy to my clients, just FYI. :)

gemeinschaft
10-08-2011, 19:42
I had issues with some Corsair SSDs that I put into a couple systems at work.

The good news was, Corsair worked quickly to resolve the issue, but it was a bad experience for me in the interim.

The Owner and CEO of our company was leaving for a 3 week vacation in Europe and gave me two weeks to fulfill his request for a computer that would give him 13.5 hours of run time so he could do what he wanted on the flight without a power source....

Not fun.

Anywho, I managed to pull it off and in the end he ended up coming back after one day on vacation. LOL

Fun times.

I have had very experiences with Samsung SSD and so far, I have not had one fail after two years of being fielded. Of course, I should mention that we only have about 20 laptops in the company running around with SSD in them, but so far, the Samsung SSD seem to be the best performers in my limited experience.

jy1129
10-08-2011, 19:54
For the best combination of speed and reliability, Intel SSDs win hands down. I've had my Intel X25-M 120GB SSD since 3/2011 on my Macbook Pro with TRIM enabled and it's been flawless. It's tempting to lean more towards performance... but what good is it if it doesn't work?

wct097
10-12-2011, 12:01
Been having some issues that I think are related to my OCZ Vertex 3 drive. My new machine will occasionally lock up, reboot, and not see the boot drive. It generally comes back up after power cycling. Tried swapping cables, so I'm thinking it's the drive since the motherboard doesn't even see it.