Is it compressed? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Is it compressed?


themighty9mm
10-09-2011, 22:06
So trying a new powder, WST. Loading a 124 gr fmj from precision delta with mixed brass at 1.150 oal with 4.4 gr of wst.
A forum member here posted a photo copy of load data for this powder with this bullet profile awhile back. The min in that manual was 4.8 gr. I'm in the process of figuring out a load thas going to work. However even at 4.4 gr of WST it appears that the load is going to be compressed or close to it. Am I just being paranoid or will this be a compressed load? I know some powders will be as such. Its very possible I am just being paranoid. I havnt been able to load as I was laid off up untill about 2 months back.

fredj338
10-09-2011, 22:45
I doubt it's compressed. I load a 124grLTC @ 1.060" o/ 4.8gr & it's only slightly compresses. Yous should be fine, but I doubt you'll get reliable functioning @ 4.4gr. DOn't load too many.

themighty9mm
10-09-2011, 22:56
Yea, looking at the data I think 4.8 was 1025 fps. This is coming from a beretta 92 with a just about 5 inch barrel. Its ate some pretty light loads before. I only loaded up 1 mag (15 rounds) at 4.4. Stopped to ask this and make sure I'm solid. Then I'll do another mag at 4.6 then another at 4.8. Maybe push one more at 5.0. 4.8 should get me well and beyond functioning. I was doing only 10 rounds for function check. Lost count and came up with 15

32dgrz
10-10-2011, 18:19
I load 124 PD's & 4.6 WST