Firefox problem [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Firefox problem


sprayswithaks
10-11-2011, 01:00
Ok so i just updated my firefox, now when i search for something on google and click on the results i get redirected to uniqueserachsystem.com. Also youtube videos will freeze and i get pop ups asking me to connect or work offline. I've tried scanning with an anti-malware program but as soon as i start a scan the program closes by itself.

can anyone help me?

GIockGuy24
10-11-2011, 05:36
You can try scanning with a bootable CD.

http://www.avira.com/en/support-download-avira-antivir-rescue-system

The SFX (2nd one) download will automatically write the CD in Windows with a blank CD in the CD writer. The ISO (first one) download is the CD image itself if you know how to write an ISO image to CD. It's a big download. The automatic one is easiest to use and thew CD it writes is the same as the ISO download. After writing the CD then restart the computer with the CD in the CD drive. It has already been updated so don't bother trying to download updates when prompted as it often gets confusing too use that way.

Easy instructions here.

http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=82163

Another really good scanning CD is the Dr. Web Live CD.

http://www.freedrweb.com/livecd/?lng=en

or

http://www.freedrweb.com/livecd/

Video instructions.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KSvD-JCDKOc

m2hmghb
10-11-2011, 08:29
Boot into safe mode and try a scan that way. It sounds like you have malware.

Pierre!
10-11-2011, 10:47
And... What is your operating system?

I am betting it's Windows XP...

sprayswithaks
10-11-2011, 13:27
I've already tried running the scan in safe mode, the same thing happens. Also i am running vista:crying:

eracer
10-11-2011, 13:32
I'm having issues with 7.0 as well. I've submitted a trouble ticket.

Win7 Pro/64

I can't access an internal HTTPS URL. I had no problems accessing it with 5.0, and IE8 works fine as well. With Firefox 7.0 I get to the login screen for the app, but when I enter my credentials I get an error:

Corrupted Content Error
- The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because an error in the data transmission was detected.
- The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because an error in the data transmission was detected.
- Please contact the website owners to inform them of this problem.


Also, Firefox 7.0 seems s-l-o-w.....

9jeeps
10-11-2011, 16:10
I've been having the same problems with FF. I have XP

I uninstalled FF and am using Chrome. Chrome is OK, BUT, I can't send a link or page to friends or my wife's computer.

Would like to get back to FF or a Link/Page sender of sorts. Can anyone help?

I don't really want to go back to IE if I can avoid it.

Thanks.


PS. Also thought FF was slow or corrupted as FF7 was fickle and always crashing on me.