Ahhh... The polygraph [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Ahhh... The polygraph

JohnnyReb
10-18-2011, 10:09
Yesterday, I took a polygraph with the state police. The entirety of the polygraph was about 3.5 hrs long, from pre test interview, test, and post test interview.

For those that don't know me, here is a little background on me, I have been a correctional officer since the age of 18, for a local sheriff's office. I'm currently 23. In my five years, I have had numerous commendations, I have attended background investigation/pre employment training, weapons training, suicide awareness training, and I have been disciplined once, for a relatively minor infraction two years ago.

I have taken a total of 3 polygraphs prior to this one, my inital polygraph was a rough time with a lot of accusations and game playing, but I was hired by my agency. My second was with a large federal uniformed LE agency, which went entirely smooth, with no problems (I was treated much better).

My third polygraph was roughly an hour, to an hour and a half, with my current employing agency for a transfer to patrol. This polygraph was roughly two weeks after passing the federal LE polygraph. I thought it went smooth, and at the end the polygrapher came back into the room after my test asking how I thought I did, I told him I'm assuming everything was fine, given the fact I took one two weeks ago and had no issues. He said "ok" and we exited headquarters together.

Two weeks later through the rumor mill at work, I heard my polygraph showed deception. I was never contacted officially regarding this. I contacted my background investigator, whom I'm on first name basis with and attended training with, and he told me my polygraph came back indicating "deception" but unless it was in a certain category, the major would sign off on it. I was then reassured not to stess about it, and everything will be fine.