View Full Version : Max Load for a S&W 640-1

barth
10-19-2011, 18:38
Hi Mas,
Just got a 640-1 at the gun show.
Tried Remington Golden Saber -1200 fps,
Winchester PDX1 Defender -1325 fps,
and Hornady Critical Defense -1500 fps.
They all kick hard so I'm thinking go big with the fastest.
(I know the velocity will be reduced in my snub nose).

Now I see Double Tap's bonded defense round at - 1605 fps
(1425fps / 1 7/8" S&W)
Is this too much pressure for the Stainless J-frame?

Thanks

Mas Ayoob
10-19-2011, 21:43
Barth, it's tough for me to discuss the loads when the velocities are listed but the bullet weights are not.

From the user's perspectie, controllability has to come before raw power. I think we'll all agree that the ability to hit the right spot under extreme pressure is more important than the raw power of the load.

Personally, I do this for a living and do more than my share of shooting, and I carry +P .38 Special in the very small and light J-framel revolvers. In an all-steel small frame .357 snub in the 25-ounce weight range, I carry full power 125 grain Magnum hollow points, but I also pay my dues with training and qualification with those loads in those guns.

Each of us has to find our own balance.

Best,
Mas

barth
10-19-2011, 22:52
Barth, it's tough for me to discuss the loads when the velocities are listed but the bullet weights are not.

From the user's perspectie, controllability has to come before raw power. I think we'll all agree that the ability to hit the right spot under extreme pressure is more important than the raw power of the load.

Personally, I do this for a living and do more than my share of shooting, and I carry +P .38 Special in the very small and light J-framel revolvers. In an all-steel small frame .357 snub in the 25-ounce weight range, I carry full power 125 grain Magnum hollow points, but I also pay my dues with training and qualification with those loads in those guns.

Each of us has to find our own balance.

Best,
Mas