Changing primers? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Changing primers?


Justin1911
10-20-2011, 13:49
I'm at the bottom of my last order of wolf small pistol primers, and have found that nobody (that I can find) seems to have any in stock. But plenty of federal, CCI, Win, etc. I'm not loading precision rifle here, just loading 9mm practice loads with Solo 1000, so I'm thinking it won't really matter if I switch to a different primer, is that correct?

fredj338
10-20-2011, 13:52
As long as you are not shooting max loads, switching primers rarely has any affect on pressures. If you are already at max, then dropping 1/10-2/10 of a grain is prudent, then work it back up, especially if using uberfast powders like Clays or Tg.

Justin1911
10-20-2011, 18:49
Oh these are light loads, just above minor PF for USPSA/IDPA

PCJim
10-20-2011, 21:50
Tula? I've heard, and I repeat, heard, that they are the same as Wolf but in different packaging for marketing purposes...

XDRoX
10-21-2011, 06:35
Tula? I've heard, and I repeat, heard, that they are the same as Wolf but in different packaging for marketing purposes...

Yep, same.