Semi-Auto Tactical Shotgun vs. Pump [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Semi-Auto Tactical Shotgun vs. Pump

TexasGlockster
10-22-2011, 15:43
So I'm just getting into the idea of buying a tactical shotgun for home defense. What are the pros and cons of semi-auto (and within that, gas powered vs. inertia powered)? Are pump actions really that much more reliable/durable? Does one require less cleaning than the other?

Also, I've heard about shotgun rounds that are packed with glass pellets rather than lead as a means of making them safer to use in a home defense situation (less likelihood of over penetration). Anyone know if these actually exist and if so who makes them?

aippi
10-22-2011, 16:05
More moving parts, more for Mr. Murphy to screw with. That alone tells you a pump is more reliable then any sem-auto. Your going to get so many different answers that this entire thread is going to be useless to you. You asked the right questions and can figure out the answer with common sence.

Glass shotgun shells, never hear of them. Sounds like some silly mess to me. Better off busting the guy in the head with a Bud long neck bottle, if they even make them any longer.

WoodenPlank
10-22-2011, 16:07
So I'm just getting into the idea of buying a tactical shotgun for home defense. What are the pros and cons of semi-auto (and within that, gas powered vs. inertia powered)? Are pump actions really that much more reliable/durable? Does one require less cleaning than the other?

Also, I've heard about shotgun rounds that are packed with glass pellets rather than lead as a means of making them safer to use in a home defense situation (less likelihood of over penetration). Anyone know if these actually exist and if so who makes them?

Personally, I prefer a pump gun, but semis have their advantages.