Resume Builders [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Resume Builders

Alderak
10-28-2011, 11:46
Okay - I recently applied for my first LEO position with the local Sheriff's Department. 75 applicants and 3 jobs.

I managed to pass both the written and physical tests, but still didn't get a job interview. I have no applicable experience and no training.

What would you do to beef up your resume in my shoes?

My ideas:

EMT Basic Cert.
Apply to local PD and put in a couple years.
Keep and eye open for detention positions w/ the Sheriff's Department

Pay my way through the Academy

What would be the most valued and efficient in terms of time/money?

Alderak
10-28-2011, 11:49
Obviously there will always be room for improvement on physical tests, and I doubt I got a 100% on the written portion. I will be studying and working out to make sure I get the most points possible from those portions next time around.

DaBigBR
10-28-2011, 11:56
Do you know WHY you were not interviewed?

This like agency size and employee protections (such as civil service and unions) can impact how much latitude an agency has in the way their process is conducted. It's not uncommon to see agencies only give interviews to the top X number of candidates based upon written test scores.

Alderak
10-28-2011, 12:14
They hide their formula, but you are awarded points based upon your resume, written test score, and physical test time.

The one they explained the most thoroughly was the physical test;

ineligible for a time over 5:30
4 pts for 5:29-4:30
8 pts for under 4:30.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ObQcu2BJ5KU
I got under 4 minutes on the MPAT, or 8 points.

However I have no idea how many points are possible on the written and resume portions. A good percentage of the applicants in my group got all 8 points on the physical test portion, so maybe they use actual time to break ties. Either way, I think I need to better study for the written test, and build my resume.