How many loads from 30.06 brass? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : How many loads from 30.06 brass?

gforester
10-29-2011, 22:59
I know with many pistol loads you can get a lot of reloads before the brass wears out, depending on how hot it is loaded. I'm new to reloading for my rifle and I was wondering if there is some point shere the rifle brass should be discarded and replaced with new or more once-fired brass. This is for 30.06 loads.

freakshow10mm
10-29-2011, 23:54
Garand strength loads I get about 8-10 shots per piece of brass.

sourdough44
10-30-2011, 06:03
There is an article about this in the latest Handloader magazine. It varied with the brass from different companies. He loaded up to 'commercial levels' & got up to 20 loadings from some lots, some started to go at about 10 or so. Depending on what I'm doing I load modest much of the time, it's easier on everything.

gforester
10-30-2011, 12:19
Today I inspected my brass from my range trip last Wednesday and found 5 Winchester cases that looked like this. :wow:

http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q285/gforester/split3006.jpg

I would imagine this is a typical failure of the 30.06 casing? I had not shot these before, they were some range pickup I had lying around so I don't know how many times they had been reloaded. I have some RP and some HXP and a lot of new unfired Winchester. I think I shall record the number of times I load them.

If this was a dumb question, please forgive my ignorance as I am a newbie to reloading rifle brass.

hogfish
10-30-2011, 14:49
I don't have an answer, but just thought of something. During load development, I will usually load 5-6 sets of 3 different loads from min to max for 2-3 sesseions untill I find the right load. I have never identified the different load brass after it was fired, but only as 1st, 2nd, 3rd use, etc. This is most deffinitely wrong for keeping accurate records. I do check my brass after every single shot, though, plus when I reload.