Which press? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Which press?

nathanours
10-31-2011, 10:48
Hey guys, I'm new to reloading (well haven't even started yet) and I have a few questions.

I just ordered the ABCs of reloading I've seen you guys mention, and I'll give that a thorough reading when it arrives in a week or so.

My question is, which press should I buy? I've got a budget of around $200 max for the press itself. I know I'll still need dies a scale, a powder measure, and a tumbler at some point too.

I've currently got around: 500 5.56x45 brass, 2000 45 auto, 4000 9mm, and 500 38 special brass to reload that I've saved over the last 2 years.

ETA: that is about how much I shoot in a year or two, so that is the volume I'll probably be reloading, maybe more if that matters.

I want a good quality press that will hold up well, and people have recommended to me the RCBS rock chucker, and the lee classic turret. What are you guys opinions of those two?

I tried the search function, but for some reason it isn't working.

Thanks,

Nathan

freakshow10mm
10-31-2011, 11:03
Classic Turret press will load faster than the single stage, since each case is ran through the series of 4 dies without changing to complete a single loaded round. The single stage is best loaded in batches, so you put the sizing die in then run all the cases to size, deprime, and reprime them. Then take out that die and put in the next and run the cases through that step, etc.

Both are great presses for what they are. With shooting that volume, you'd be fine with a single stage press. With a turret press you can cut your loading time in half and have that much more time for other matters (be they gun/shooting related or family/life related).

nathanours
10-31-2011, 11:06
Which brand is better quality, Lee or RCBS?

creophus
10-31-2011, 11:06
At that budget...Lee Classic Cast Turret.

Hogpauls
10-31-2011, 11:07