Advice on my New AR Please? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Advice on my New AR Please?

Shoeless
11-07-2011, 23:50
Ok NOOB here. You've been warned. :embarassed:

I bought a Stag Arms AR (Model 3) a couple months ago and haven't even had a chance to take it to the range yet. I want to read and learn enough that I feel comfortable that I know how to care for it before I just break it out and shoot it.

So I guess what I'm asking is this... if you had to give one piece of advice on each of the following, (along with your reasons why you'd give that advice) what would it be?

1. Outfitting with iron sights

2. Accessories

3. Care and maintenance

THANK YOUUUUUUU so much in advance and I can't wait to learn some new stuff!!

Shoeless :wavey:

WoodenPlank
11-08-2011, 00:02
Ok NOOB here. You've been warned. :embarassed:

I bought a Stag Arms AR (Model 3) a couple months ago and haven't even had a chance to take it to the range yet. I want to read and learn enough that I feel comfortable that I know how to care for it before I just break it out and shoot it.

So I guess what I'm asking is this... if you had to give one piece of advice on each of the following, (along with your reasons why you'd give that advice) what would it be?

1. Outfitting with iron sights

2. Accessories

3. Care and maintenance

THANK YOUUUUUUU so much in advance and I can't wait to learn some new stuff!!

Shoeless :wavey:

Iron sights: Troy or Daniel Defense fixed if you are not going to use an optic (I believe you mentioned previously that you had a Barska), or Magpul or Troy folding sights if you are using an optic. You can use fixed sights with most optics, but I prefer folding sights for use with an optic. For the front sight, you will need one the correct height for your gas block, since it does not match the height of the upper receiver rail. if you go with Magpul folding sights, you will have to mount the front to the handguard, not to the gas block.