First Squib Load In 35 Years Of Reloading [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : First Squib Load In 35 Years Of Reloading

JBnTX
11-11-2011, 17:46
I've been reloading since 1976 and never had a problem of any kind that I didn't
catch and correct before pulling the trigger.

While firing my Glock 21 today I pulled the trigger, no recoil and just a "poof"
of a sound.

I dropped the magazine, ejected the empty case that was still in the chamber,
and thinking it was just a malfunction I reinserted the magazine.

Before I could drop the slide and continue firing, a little voice inside me said to
stop. (I've learned the hard way to listen to that little voice.)

Further examination revealed a 230gr FMJ bullet lodged in the barrel just forward of the chamber.
Clearly a loaded round with no powder charge.

I have always used a single stage RCBS press and have prided myself on
checking and double checking each and every round for a powder charge.

I guess I'm getting senile because I know I checked those rounds for a powder charge.

Just a tap with a wooden dowel dislodged the stuck bullet which had barely
cleared the cartridge case.

The moral of this story is to check, double check, and check again your loaded rounds.

Glockdude1
11-11-2011, 17:49
Glad you caught the mistake!

:cool:

unclebob
11-11-2011, 18:19
Yep listen to that little voice. How many times on here have we heard that you cannot get a squib with a single stage press?

alank2
11-11-2011, 18:25
One thing I often do is post weigh my rounds. It may not be popular, but if you are loading the same headstamp brass, I find that the range will be +/- a couple of grains for all the rounds I weigh on the digital scale. Assuming the charge is 5 to 6 grains, it will be outside that range and caught. It takes a little extra time, but I case gauge check them at the same time and it gives me confidence.