16" Light Weight Upper? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : 16" Light Weight Upper?

M&P Shooter
11-13-2011, 21:38
What's the difference in durability between a standard AR upper and a light weight upper? Also are light weight uppers limited to what ammo you can use? If these are stupid questions forgive me but I am brand new to AR's and don't want to throw money in the trash.

crazymoose
11-13-2011, 22:51
A lightweight upper will fail on sustained auto fire before a heavier barrel. Also, they don't work as well as pry bars. Beyond that, no difference, and no ammo limitations beyond normal twist rate and bullet weight considerations. Bottom line: they weigh less, they get hot faster, and they cool down faster.

TedG
11-13-2011, 22:55
A lightweight upper will fail on sustained auto fire before a heavier barrel. Also, they don't work as well as pry bars. Beyond that, no difference, and no ammo limitations beyond normal twist rate and bullet weight considerations. Bottom line: they weigh less, they get hot faster, and they cool down faster.

What he said. Plus the weight savings is multiplied by the distance you have to carry it.

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i90/TedG954/KISSCarbine1.jpg

HAIL CAESAR
11-14-2011, 17:25

Great answer.:wavey:

HAIL CAESAR
11-14-2011, 17:28
Oh, and with a LW barrel the groups will open up a bit as the barrel heats up. And the LW barrel heats up faster so groups open faster than a heavy barrel. But a LW barrel isn't really made to be a tack driver for a guy with a fast finger.

faawrenchbndr
11-14-2011, 18:18
Lots of good info in this one,.......:wavey:

samuse
11-14-2011, 19:32
I've had a couple of lightweight barrels (Noveske 14.5" & BCM 16", both middys) and they do everything a semi-auto AR could be expected to do outside of SPR, DMR, RECCE, SOF or varmint type applications.

I never noticed any POI shift but I never put 'em on a bench and ran 100 rounds to measure groups.