Bushmaster Carbon 15 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Bushmaster Carbon 15

Colt452zigzag28
11-16-2011, 13:45
I am somewhat new to the AR-15 world, however I am looking to get my first AR. The Carbon 15 is on sale everywhere the day after thanksgiving sale, ie Cabela's, Gander Mtn., for $600. Is that really a deal? And would it be a good rifle for patrol/3 gun comp? As my first one I want a decent rifle but one I can also try putting new parts on/customizing to make something that fits what I'm looking for. Thanks

MrMurphy
11-16-2011, 15:12
They're on sale for a reason.......avoid them.

Look at Bravo Company, Daniel Defense, Colt of course, LaRue, Noveske, a few others. The S&W M&P15 series for the money is also an excellent deal.

For a 'real world' use rifle these will hold up to severe usage.

For games and range time, most ARs will work. I would never shop at Gander Mountain or Cabelas for an AR.

bmoore
11-16-2011, 17:49
Im very happy with my Smith M&P15. I have had it for a few years now, and it has been 100%; even when I ran it dry thinking a spray of Remoil was enough lube. Im also extremely happy with my PSA dissy. BCM, Colt and other proven brands would make fine patrol rifles. That being said there are many people with thousands of rounds down their Bushmaster partol rifles. If I were a LE officer I would have an M1A socom 16 and or my scout squad but that is just me.

faawrenchbndr
11-16-2011, 18:12
Avoid the Carbon15 like the plague!

arclight610
11-16-2011, 18:30
You can get a PSA for 600

Matthew Courtney
11-17-2011, 10:41
I am somewhat new to the AR-15 world, however I am looking to get my first AR. The Carbon 15 is on sale everywhere the day after thanksgiving sale, ie Cabela's, Gander Mtn., for $600. Is that really a deal? And would it be a good rifle for patrol/3 gun comp? As my first one I want a decent rifle but one I can also try putting new parts on/customizing to make something that fits what I'm looking for. Thanks