2nd gen Glock 20 questions [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : 2nd gen Glock 20 questions

stevus
11-25-2011, 09:39
Im a newb to 10mm and have a few questions . Im going to be shooting some underwood ammo . . I will contact Glock to see about updating the gun on monday . Should I change the recoil spring to a wolf? which rating?Good ideato change to a 3.5lb connector? anything else I should change ? . I need to research ammo but can someone give a quick rundown of when and why to use 165gr vs 180 vs 200 ?

Taterhead
11-25-2011, 10:02
I wouldn't change any parts until you put a bunch of rounds through it to see what, if anything, needs to be changed. Right off the bat you might dislike the sights. But as for trigger parts, barrels, recoil springs; I would wait and see what you know that you need. If Glock has some recommended updates, that would be a different situation.

Regarding ammunition: Generally speaking, heavier bullets penetrate better. 200s are good for wilderness protection and hunting. For self defence against humans, a lot of guys gravitate toward lighter bullets (135 gr to 165 gr) for added energies. Lighter bullets going faster can have more explosive results. I personally like a 165 gr Gold Dot for around town and a 200 grain gr WFNGC hardcast bullet for in the Idaho wilderness. My all-purpose do-it-all bullet is a 180 gr XTP.

TreyG-20
11-25-2011, 11:05
I wouldn't change any parts until you put a bunch of rounds through it to see what, if anything, needs to be changed. Right off the bat you might dislike the sights. But as for trigger parts, barrels, recoil springs; I would wait and see what you know that you need. If Glock has some recommended updates, that would be a different situation.