New - Saying Hi with Question [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : New - Saying Hi with Question

jr05
11-28-2011, 08:08
First off, I am new to reloading (haven't even gotten my setup yet, getting it for Christmas). Just thought I would stop in and give a preemptive "HI"

Also, I am getting some supplies so I will be set when the press gets here (lee classic turret with lee 4 die carbide 9mm set). I will be loading 9mm to start and am going to start with:

124gr Montana Gold FMJ
Titegroup or Universal Power
WSP Primers
Free Brass (I have saved for a few years...)

I am getting the hand prime system and the auto disk powder measure (maybe get the safety prime later, but hear it is a hassle). I will be getting a primer pocket tool, scale, and a tumbler with media. Are there any other necessities I should get so I don't end up needing something and can't load until I get it (besides manuals, books, etc? I have been reading those already)? Do I need a case trimmer?

rg1
11-28-2011, 08:23
You don't need a case trimmer for 9MM. If you load for rifles or straight walled pistol cases like .357 or .44 Magnum where even roll crimps are needed then you will need a case trimmer. Not familiar with Lee equipment. You will need a caliper to measure things.

ColoCG
11-28-2011, 08:35
You will need a set of Calipers (dial or digital) to measure oal of catridges and diameters,etc. Also the Lee safety prime is no hassle and works very good and faster.

Also welcome to GTR.

jr05
11-28-2011, 08:46
Calipers! I knew I was forgetting something.

I do plan to load 45ACP and 5.56 down the road but not right now. I will save the case trimmer for when that time comes.

As far as the safety prime goes, maybe I should switch out the RCBS hand primer I was going to get, and go with the Safety Prime?

FLSlim
11-28-2011, 08:49