EMS care after taking down a bad guy [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : EMS care after taking down a bad guy

kylet
12-02-2011, 15:46
I was just thinking this over...

For any ems providers out there... if you got jumped and had to shoot the BG, would you then preform medical care for the individual? Or would you leave him be?

Lets assume that you were able to determine that the scene was safe(removed firearms/ other weapons)

Also assuming that ems care is probably coming anyway.

Any thoughts?

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine

Lord
12-02-2011, 15:54

For any ems providers out there... if you got jumped and had to shoot the BG, would you then preform medical care for the individual? Or would you leave him be?

Lets assume that you were able to determine that the scene was safe(removed firearms/ other weapons)

Any thoughts?

I would render whatever aid I could. My intention would not be to kill the BG, just stop him. ... and yes, I am an EMT.

Panzer
12-02-2011, 16:00
No I wouldn't render aid, once you shoot the guy it becomes a crime scene. If he bleeds out, well that's just too damn bad.

BC Dan
12-02-2011, 16:03
As an EMT, once he stops being a lethal threat, I would feel morally and possibly legally obligated to render aid. Then if he bleeds out, well that's just too damn bad. (to coin a phrase ;) )

txgunguy
12-02-2011, 16:10
Paramedic here. No I wouldn't. The first rule of ANY patient care is BSI/Scene safety. (body substance isolation). Wouldn't start trying to help the person that tried to kill me especially without gloves to protect me from his blood. No way, no how.

In Texas, you do not have to act while off duty. Even if I was supposed to, I wouldn't help someone that tried to kill me or my family. I have a moral obligation against that.

SCmasterblaster
12-02-2011, 16:11

Any thoughts?

Well, after a half-dozen rounds of WW 115gr JHP +p+ through his chest, he'll be beyond all medical help.

Lord270
12-02-2011, 16:16