Barrel nut? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Barrel nut?


conch27
12-04-2011, 21:15
So here I am building my new dream AR and I can not get the barrel nut to fit on my heavy fluted barrel. Are there other sized barrel nuts out there or am I just missing something. Any help would be appreciated.

surf
12-04-2011, 21:30
Your probably missing something but more info or pics would help.

conch27
12-04-2011, 21:46
Your probably missing something but more info or pics would help.

I will do pics in the AM. but as far as info, the barrel nut stops about 7" short of the receiver. It just seems like it is a hair to small. I was not sure if I needed a special nut for this barrel. It is a DPMS 16" heavy fluted barrel. I would have thought all barrel nuts were the same.

RWBlue
12-04-2011, 21:59
your probably missing something but more info or pics would help.

+ 1

Bushflyr
12-04-2011, 23:34
IIRC, and it's been a while, DPMS doesn't cut the blank at all on some of their heavy barrels. You can get an oversized barrel nut, but if it's reasonably close just take a flapper wheel or some such and open it up a bit.

gryphthemyth
12-09-2011, 01:24
A little bit of filing the inside of the nut will get it to clear.