Direct Impingement Conversion? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Direct Impingement Conversion?

eaglefrq
12-07-2011, 17:28
I recently got my first AR and it's a direct impingement. I've seen some kits to convert it to a piston and I'm trying to figure out why?

I know the direct impingement have been around since the beginning and the pistons are fairly new.

For a recreational shooter, is there a benefit to converting?

faawrenchbndr
12-07-2011, 17:41
They run cooler.
They have a cleaner bore/chamber.
They are to operate with less lube, because of the above.

I've been shooting the M16/AR15 for 27 years. I AM a DI fan, but,
I do see some pros and cons of a piston upper.

eaglefrq
12-07-2011, 18:24
They run cooler.

Other than being fairly new, are there any cons to the piston?

I haven't had a chance to shoot mine yet, the only range around here is about 1 hr away and closes about the same time I get off work. I'm going this weekend to shoot.

mjkeat
12-07-2011, 18:44

I haven't had a chance to shoot mine yet, the only range around here is about 1 hr away and closes about the same time I get off work. I'm going this weekend to shoot.

The only cons I know of are from them being proprietary. Some also claim they are overgassed as well.

faawrenchbndr
12-07-2011, 18:50

Some state they are less accurate than a DI as well. More moving parts,
heavier weight due to the additional parts. Some piston guns suffer from
carrier tilt. Many have fixed this issue.

I am VERY new to the piston upper, I chose an Adams Arms complete upper.
Shown below on a BCM lower.......

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c341/faawrenchbndr/BCMwithAdamsArmsupperpic6.jpg

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c341/faawrenchbndr/BCMwithAdamsArmsupperpic12.jpg

boomhower
12-08-2011, 07:51